jump to navigation

Old school memories… September 10, 2008

Posted by loz121 in Uncategorized.
trackback
I had both my appointment at hospital and interview at my old junior school today (for volunteering see post Moving on) I wasn’t keen on the hospital appointment, but the interview at the school was good. It was great to see my old junior school and how everything’s changed since I left. It has certainly improved since I was there and lots of new teachers! I start next week to see how I get on! Hopefully I can gain a bit of self confidence in myself rather than asking people what I have to do. I’ve always been a follower of people so to move into being my own boss in my head will be different but it should help my self-confidence. I’m going to be helping the kids with their work so hopefully I can follow the lessons!!! It’s been a while since I’ve been at school learning different subjects! My mum has told me I should use my initiative and learn to do things by myself rather than wait for someone to help me! I just hope I can and don’t feel a bit lost!! The head teacher showed me around the school and told me if I miss anything in the class just ask! Also the kids were very noisy talking amongst themselves so I hope I can overcome it all and listen carefully! I think the head teacher was impressed with how I cope with my cochlear implant and my speech!
I also think that I might ask If I could get a lead to connect to my laptop to my cochlear implant so I can listen to music although the problem with that is I will only be able to listen to the music directly to my cochlear implant so that means I cannot hear what is going on in the family house, like my mum shouting me for tea etc. I had a lead on my last cochlear implant but I never used it because I preferred to listen to everything really! The music, the humdrum of my house and family talking basically all the wonderful sounds you can hear with the cochlear implant!!!
Comments»

1. Jennifer Bruno Conde - September 10, 2008

Hi Laura!

Fantastic! I’m so glad you are preparing to start volunteering at your junior school!

When I was teaching three year olds I would’ve loved to have someone like you volunteering in my class!

They are lucky to have you!

Let us know how it goes.

Jennifer 🙂

2. Jennifer Bruno Conde - September 10, 2008

Hi Laura!Fantastic! I’m so glad you are preparing to start volunteering at your junior school!When I was teaching three year olds I would’ve loved to have someone like you volunteering in my class! They are lucky to have you!Let us know how it goes.Jennifer 🙂


Leave a Reply

