jump to navigation

My 15 year cochlear implant review… May 17, 2009

Posted by loz121 in Uncategorized.
trackback
On the 27th of May, I have my 15 year review at the new cochlear implant centre! I don’t know whether they are going to offer me the new Freedom behind the ear CI. Although if they do, I am able to keep my old mapping because I just hate the slightest change in my mapping. Im sure i’ll put up a mini fight if they want to put a new mapping in and stick with the 3G but maybe since I’ve had the 3g esprit for a good couple of years now and i’m quite used to it. Im not sure if i can make the change to a different BTE but if they offer me it, I’m going to try it out at least see if it makes a difference. I never do like the change of a mapping when its just been changed! I think it sounds all funny but I always give it some time to get used to it and maybe put the old mapping on another setting on the CI if possible if I can’t get used to it!
The only thing they said to me last time I was at the centre was that because I have an old version insdie my head that some of the features on the Freedom may not work with it. Thats the least of my worries anyway! I just want it to sound ok! hehe
but 15 years, its gone by so fast, its come to the point I hardly notice it on my ear anymore! I sometimes have to double check I’ve still not got it on when I’m in the bath! hehe
The review should be intresting! 😀 I’ll let ya know how it goes!
Comments»

1. melissa - May 17, 2009

your inside ci is compatible with all ci versions. My friend has a really old version as she was one of the first children in the uk to get it in 1992/1993 they gave her the freedom a few years backunless theres another reason

2. Debs - May 20, 2009

Richard, my mate got the freedom, he used wear 3G.. he prefer freedom saying it look really nice and it sound better too..go for it.. have a try.. if you dont like it after a few weeks you can ask for 3G back!

3. Jennifer Bruno Conde - May 24, 2009

Hi Laura!Will be looking forward to hearing how it goes on the 27th…whether it be the Freedom or sticking with the 3G.Hugs, Jennifer


Leave a Reply

